IPSD 204 Lite

National Merit Semifinalists Announced

Reported by on 9/15/22

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced 54 students from District 204 have been identified as Semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,250 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $28 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

From over 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level. In February, they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

The District 204 National Merit Semifinalists are:

Metea Valley High School: Siri Chandra | Rajas M. Gandhi | Leisha Garg | Akanksha G. Kashyap | Aarushi Kaul | Ana J. Kim | Adhvaith Mhahesh

Neuqua Valley High School: Nyssa Aftab | Jeffrey Y. Cao | Ryan Chen | Emily Chiou | Aruv A. Dand | Sharanya Duvvuri | Luke C. Fosdick |Kriti Gangadharan | Nayana V. Gaonkar | Abigail H. Gillham | Rishya Gutti | Diya Kaimal | Samuel D. Kovar | Maheen N. Kumar | Kathryn H. Lee | Yuxiao Li | Ethan Lopez | Amartyaf Nalluri | Riona O’Grady | Hetvi Patel | Anika Prasad | Annie Y. Qu | Karthikeya Ramaraju | Vani Ramesh | Abby F. Rieke | Joel Setya | Anish Sheth | Anaam Singh | Derek B. Sisbarro | Wanrou Sun | Dhruv Tomar | Madeleine Wahl | Ryan R. Wang | Kevin H. Xu | Anna Y. Yan | Cynthia Zhang | Eunice T. Zhang

Waubonsie Valley High School: Musa S. Bukhari | Seungbin Choi | Thiyagarajaan Chokkalingam | Rohan S. Dole | Gavin A. Ebenezer | Jonah M. Elias | Jafar Kazi | Shivank A. Mishra | Rohan Satapathy | Jeanelle C. Zhou